top of page

Our History

Our Saviour's Lutheran Church has a long tradition of meaningful worship, active youth ministry and community engagement.  We have a strong connection, that continues today, with the larger church, both nationally and globally.  

Our worshipping community began over one hundred years ago with the people of Norwegian Lutheran Church of Corinth Township (organized in 1893) and the Humboldt Norwegian Evangelical Church (organized in 1895, renamed First Lutheran in 1938).  Together with the Danish Trinity Lutheran Church (organized in 1920) they reformed into one church - Our Saviour's Lutheran Church - in 1960, breaking ground to build the current building in 1964.  

Norwegian/First Lutheran church was located on the 200 block of Sumner Avenue.  Trinity was located on the 400 block of 8th Street North and Corinth Lutheran Church was located 3-1/2 miles west of Hwy 169 on 270th Street.  The cemetery next to Corinth was renamed Our Saviour's Lutheran Cemetery.  

The congregation of Our Saviour's Lutheran celebrated its centennial in 1995.  A book entitled "To God be the Glory", details the rich history of the congregation through stories and pictures throughout its first 100 years of ministry.


bottom of page